This beautiful antebellum mansion, known today as Confederate Memorial Hall, was originally named Bleak House after the Charles Dickens novel. It was built between 1854-1858 as a wedding present for Louisa Franklin and Robert Houston Armstrong.
During the War between the States the house was the headquarters for General James Longstreet and his staff during the siege of Knoxville, 17 November to 4 December 1863. The United Daughters of the Confederacy, Knoxville Chapter 89, bought the house in 1959 for use as a Confederate Museum and chapter house.
The well-maintained Tuscan-style mansion is open for tours and features formal gardens, antique furniture, 17-foot ceilings, an artifact museum, Southern history library, and fascinating memorabilia. With its stately home, beautiful grounds, and scenic river setting, this is a premier venue for weddings, receptions, parties and other functions