Built in 1925 by Andrew Jefferson Ely. He saw the Great Smoky Mtn National Park being created and knew that the old ways were falling away and people would be nostalgic for that, so he created this site so that people could come and see how it "used to be done". Comprised of a water powered furniture shop and grist mill, the place sold weaving, honey,local crafts and generously gave local color in the manner of opinions on politics, lifestyle choices, healthy eating habits and the like. The place is still alive and vibrant and run by his decendants in the same manner. A piece of "Old Gatlinburg"
Hours OpenSometime in the morning until sometime in the late afternoon
Time Period Represented1925 to present
Seasons OpenMarch until December , cabin rentals year-round, shop by appointment during the winter
Visitor FeesNone at the present, however a mill tour in soon to be and there will be a small fee for that
ADA Accessibility Notes
Wheelchairs, walkers and even motor chairs can get around a bit although sometimes they may have to retrace some areas.
Pet Friendly Notes
Pets are fine on leash. Moshi the mill cat might get upset at loose critters.
How to Get There
Either follow the Roaring Fork Motor Nature trail (in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park) which "leaves out" from traffic light # 8 in downtown Gatlinburg....the mill is at the very end, the first place outside of the National Park, or turn off of highway 321 (east parkway) at traffic light 1A and follow Roaring Fork Rd until it deadends at the mill.