Historic Westwood was built as a “wedding promise” in 1890 by John Edwin Lutz and his wife, Ann Adelia Armstrong Lutz. Originally sited on 12 acres along Kingston Pike, it was designed by notable architects Baumann Brothers in the grand Richardsonian Romanesque style so popular in the late 19th century. Westwood is one of the treasured houses known as “The Three Sisters,” which also includes Crescent Bend and Bleak House. Adelia Lutz was Tennessee’s first professional female artist and the house is filled with her beautiful hand-painted decorative frescos.
While placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984, the property was never protected by local historic zoning or a permanent preservation easement. The Aslan Foundation purchased the iconic property and donated it to Knox Heritage and the East Tennessee Preservation Alliance. Now the home is protected into the future and saved from development, as well as creating a resource for education and preservation advocacy throughout the East Tennessee region. The Knox Heritage offices are located at Historic Westwood and the house and grounds also serve as a venue for private events.
Read more about Historic Westwood online.